Child of the 90s: I Remember (An Intro of Some Kind)

On my Journey towards my Original Self, I have learned a LOT of things (which I will get into once I get the hang of this blog). During this Journey, things tend to get VERY real…sometimes in a pleasant way and sometimes in a NOT-so pleasant way. But it seems like at just the right moment ALL the time, no matter WHERE I am in Life…certain things that were emblazoned into my Soul so many years ago suddenly come jumping to the front of my Mind.

In elementary school, I was (and still AM) something called a Bright Light. The Bright Lights Initiative was an African-centered reading program geared towards African children, encouraging literacy, love for reading, and connecting with African culture. Anyway, I took a pledge when I became a Bright Light….and it was so SIMPLE back then. But then I grew up (to a certain extent. Besides, define “grew up”) and THAT’S when things went and got so complicated; complicated to the point where I somewhat FORGOT about this pledge I took and swore to carry it in my Heart and follow it forever.

Well, I would think of it from time to time over the years when the occasion called for it, but this pledge has NEVER resurfaced in my Mind as much as it’s been lately:

I WILL BOLD

I WILL BE COURAGEOUS

I WILL BE STRONG

I WILL WORK FOR POSITIVE CHANGES

I WILL LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERYDAY.

YES. Simple, yet I let it slip away and be left behind in the faded memories of my childhood. But NOW, here I am, older, wiser, changed, and still learning. And NOW, just like I’m starting to do every single day on my personal Journey–I REMEMBER.

With all that being said–WELCOME TO MY WORLD NOW! Aaaannnnnnd I’m going to sleep. Ughhhhh…zzzzzzz….

Leave a Reply

