ODUNDE 2014: Quick Recap! \(^o^)/

Sunday was the OFFICIAL 39th ANNUAL ODUNDE FESTIVAL out on 23rd & South Streets in Philly! And here are the pictures I took during the day! It was so fantastic! Beautiful DAY, beautiful PEOPLE, beautiful CELEBRATION! I even got to face-paint! As far as the face-painting, it went from me making my face up before I even left the house, to me getting to  Odunde with the King and sitting him down on a small step off to the side so I could paint HIS face to match my look to…. “Hey, how much is your face-painting?”

All throughout the day, people were admiring us, taking pictures of us, stopping to talk to us–it was BEAUTIFUL…and HUMBLING. XOXO

Some folks out there thought that we were dancers/performers for the event and EVERYTHING because of the way we were all made up. Ha, ha! We weren’t, but if we WERE, that would’ve been SO DOPE! (But don’t worry, we definitely DID get our dance on ALL throughout the day! HA, HA! 😀 )

Also, because of this face-painting I was doing, not only were people out there actually LOOKING for me (as a woman whose son’s face I painted told me when we ran into her again; we didn’t stay sitting on the step I originally went to paint the King’s face), some MORE opportunities have been presented to me! The beautiful woman you see in the below picture with the long blue skirt and head scarf, right? I saw her from across the way and I told my King how STUNNING she looked and he told me to go and take ask if I could take a picture of her. So, we walked over to her and let her know how gorgeous she looked. She admired our look too, and she ended up inviting/requesting me to come face-paint for an event she’s holding on June 21st to bring in and celebrate the SUMMER SOLSTICE! Woooowwwww! This among OTHER things! 😀 Of course, I agreed! I got her information and I actually talked to her on the phone yesterday and THAT situation is well under way.

Anyway, I would’ve taken more pictures but…I was too busy having fun! 🙂 DIVINE ORDER, ALL DAY–EVERYDAY! 😀

I GUARANTEE you that I WILL be an official vendor next year. YES! 😉

Me and my King posing for the a photographer who wanted snap shots of us. This picture though, is from a nice woman who we met and we took pictures of each other. :-)
Me and my King posing for the a photographer who wanted snap shots of us. This picture though, is from a nice woman who we met and we took pictures of each other. 🙂

Zee Affairs of Zee DAY!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

If you live in or near Philly, or even if you’re interested in swinging through and learning more all about the ODUNDE Festival, feel free to visit the official website and Facebook page by following the links below:

Official Website: http://www.odundefestival.org/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/THE-OFFICIAL-ODUNDE-FESTIVAL/292365354049

Maybe I’ll see YOU there next year? 😉

4 thoughts on “ODUNDE 2014: Quick Recap! \(^o^)/

  1. Looks like you had a very festive time! You took some really great pics. I’m going to a fun even tomorrow. It’s out here in the LA area. They have it every summer.

    I can’t wait! 🙂

    1. YES, I really did! it It was so FABULOUS! All of the people, the nations, the cultures, the colors, the foods, the music….YES! I had an AMAZING time!

      And as for your event–That looks awesome! I’m a day late, but how was it? 😀

      1. I had a blast! Their was food,music and cool people. It was nice to be around positive brothers and sistas for a change. We need more events like this all cross the country.

Leave a Reply

