Submerge

Why?
Why you wanna trip on me?
(Why? Why? Why? Whyyy?)
Why you wanna trip on me…?
~Michael Jackson

Monday, I decided that I’ve finally had enough. There’s entirely TOO MUCH going on in the world right now. No wait. I mean, there’s entirely TOO MUCH going on in the CYBER world right now. That goes for T.V., social media, mainstream media, independent media, etc. And because so much is going on in the cyber world, it ALWAYS manages to leak a little into MY world by way of family, friends, etc. sharing the same bullshit that I’m trying to shut out.

I don’t mean any of this in a cowardly way. I don’t mean any of this in a weak way filled with sighs, excuses or running away. What I mean is, Monday, I decided that I’ve finally had enough. See, I already had a pretty turbulent weekend….one which I won’t even go into detail about, but there are certain things that occured that’s been wearing on my Spirit. Until an hour or so ago when I talked it all out with my Baba Ogun, that is. I’m fine now on that note.
But anyway, DISTRACTIONS. On Facebook and Instagram, I declared to the world a nice, resounding–

trip

I said: “Latest Distractions: “Hold it down, P.O.P.”/”Barely” memes, Bill Cosby allegations, Hollywood’s whitewashed representation of OBVIOUSLY African civilizations, the whitewashed AMAs and all other award shows, Beyonce’s 7/11 video, and the Ferguson trial ruling. Y’all keep falling RIGHT into these Media Mind Traps OVER AND OVER AND OVER again! Y’all trippin’…. *instant transmission to Someplace Else*”

And THAT’s the TRUTH! Well….I didn’t QUITE get to do an Instant Transmission….but what I considered to be close enough was to deactivate my Facebook, log out of my Instagram and all the other social sites, turn my cell phone off, take the case off, take the battery out, and throw all of this into my dresser drawer until further notice. I just needed to cut it ALL OFF! I was feeling distraught–physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually drained. I just needed to tune the whole world out and get MYSELF back on track. I needed to realign. Recalibrate, if you will. And it’s been going WONDERFULLY.

So of course, I love music and I can’t really do without it, so that’s the ONLY reason I put my phone back together and turned it back on. I need my Spotify like the air I breathe. My MUSIC keeps me sane, when my own thoughts have done quite enough on their own for some time.

Anyway, with my music on and the world off, I traveled through my own Mind, and got submerged into MYSELF COMPLETELY. I’ve been reading, writing, studying, planning, dreaming, writing some more. I even found some files on my laptop that I transferred over from my old one. Not long ago tonight, I saw a short story of I mine I wrote for my Fiction Writing class back when I was going to CCP. I actually just got finished reading it and editing it a bit. I REALLY oughta do something with this story, too. I’d like to get it published so you can see it one day. ❤

Well, the point I’m trying to make is, in freeing myself from the madness of the cyber world and the world in general, I’ve been having SO MUCH FUN restoring myself, rediscovering pieces of myself through old journal entries, or freewritten thoughts in notebooks, or EVEN old stories and plots from years ago. Rather than have social media, I turned to StumbleUpon, which, actually the only reason why I went Stumblin’ is because while I was cleaning up my emails I found an email from StumbleUpon with some suggested Stumbles…and I swear, they know me so well. This is ANOTHER way I’ve been keeping myself content, focused and inspired.

I just needed to get away.

And based on all the things I’ve been reading (ALL different sources on many different topics connected by the fact that they all have something to do with what I wish I accomplish in life), they have all aligned as signs and messages that I’m right in doing what I’m doing.

I don’t know why I’m telling you all this. I could have just as easily vanished off the face of the Internet and choose not to have anything to do with ANY of it anymore and just live happily ever after reading, writing, drawing, painting and cooking wherever I choose to go.

But something just told me, “Hey, write a blog entry.”

So, here you go. ❤

 

If YOU stop trippin’,

THEY’LL stop trippin’,

Everybody just STOP TRIPPIN’!

~Michael Jackson

Leave a Reply

