–It’s getting late. Don’t you think we ought to leave?

–Li?

–Yeah?

–Did you hear me? We really ought to go.

–Hmph. Is that so? And where are we gonna go next?

–Well, I’m going to take you home. There’s no need for you to be out here at this hour by yourself in the cold, so–

–So? So THEN what? You think you can play the Charming Prince, Mr. Chivalry, or Rescue Hero? Is THAT it? Pull up to the front of my place, attempt to linger with some long-ass “good night” that actually translates to, “Can I come in so I can COME in and COME in it?”

–Whoa, wait a damn minute! Where is all of this even coming from?

–You know damn well where this is coming from!

–I…

–Wow. Um…let me just drive you home, okay?

–NO. I don’t need any ride from you. I’ll get home myself. I’m not some helpless little girl.

–Li, you can’t go wandering around in the night like this. Please, just let me drive you home.

–Is it okay if I drive you home?

–Look, I’ll drop you off in front of the door, you get out the car, and I’ll drive away without another word.

–Fine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

©2014 K. N. Dozier. All Rights Reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

