Deja….

And there you were in the restaurant, sitting quietly in the corner enjoying a late lunch, looking as handsome as ever. My eyes couldn’t help but to keep darting to the left, sneaking peeks, snatching glances. It was too bittersweet to be true.

Is that you…?

Some hours past, I found myself in the center of the city as the sun bade this side of the world farewell until tomorrow. I concentrated on going where I need to be and…There he was, in the crowd….standing quietly on the corner, suspended in time within the frame of my Mind.

My Heart forgot its primary function…the air in my lungs vanished and my eyes stared transfixed at a sight I haven’t seen in SO LONG…so long…

Frozen within that moment, the traffic light was red. Then he walked towards me…the light was green. I walked towards him…the light was green…he walked PAST me…my breath still hadn’t returned. Deja vu struck.

It was never you.

But why am I still haunted by your image…hour later…here alone in my bed?

How could this be?

 

© 2014 K. N. Dozier. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

