Deferred?

Screenshot_2015-07-27-15-51-10-1

“What happens to a dream deferred?”

Is the question he asked me so long ago,

Long before my current form was formed

Long before there was even a he and she

To make ME.

Still, from a faraway place

I heard the question.

So here and now I turn towards the sky

And reply,

“What happens to a dream deferred?

It just so happens, that they go on into

Forever,

Energy

Neither created nor destroyed

Cycling through lifetimes

Never coming to an end,

Flowing through one to the next,

Eternal

Until the day

A dear spirit comes along

And fulfills

What the previous spirits could not

Or would not.

What happens to a dream deferred?

I’d like to think my thoughts as theory

For I have no intention of ever really

Knowing

The answer.”

 

© 2015 K. N. Dozier. All rights reserved.

 

4 thoughts on “Deferred?

Leave a Reply

